The 2023-24 Rice United Way Campaign: Owl in for Houston

Right here in Houston, 31% of households are working hard but can’t afford the basic necessities of life, and another 14% of households are living below the federal poverty threshold. Together, that makes 45% — nearly half your fellow Houstonians! Will you go "owl in for Houston" and make a pledge to help right now?

I know what it’s like to be in need. When I was a child, my family benefited from organizations like the United Way, and it had a huge impact on my life. It helped me to realize, even as a young kid, that there are people who care and who want to help, and that was life-changing.

— Ruth López Turley, Director of the Kinder Institute for Urban Research and faculty chair for the Rice United Way Campaign Committee
Body

Why Rice is "Owl in for Houston"

Ruth López Turley kicks off Rice's United Way Campaign for 2023

Team Rice: Owl in for Houston YouTube thumbnail

United Way is focused on:

Rice United Way Campaign Committee

Reginald DesRoches
Reginald DesRoches

Honorary Chair


Ruth López Turley
Ruth López Turley

Faculty Chair


Susann Glenn, Staff Chair
Susann Glenn

Staff Chair

Diana Strassman
Diana Strassmann

Lead Donors Co-Chair


Michael Webster
Michael Webster

Lead Donors Co-Chair


Greg Marshall
Greg Marshall

Campaign Manager

Body

Campaign Captains

Division Captain(s) Email
Academic Affairs Jennifer Wilson jsw@rice.edu
Architecture John Casbarian jjc@rice.edu
Athletics Stacy Mosely and Davon Robb mosely@rice.edu, davon.robb@rice.edu
Baker Institute Ben Stevenson ben.stevenson@rice.edu
Business - -
Continuing Studies Kim Raptis kim.raptis@rice.edu
Development Toni Parker toni.parker@rice.edu
Doerr Institute Lillie Besozzi lillie.besozzi@rice.edu
Engineering Stephanie Post post@rice.edu
Enrollment - -
F&CP Sylvestre Cantu, Florence Tang scantu@rice.edu, fkt119@rice.edu
Finance & Administration Hollie Evans hollie.evans@rice.edu
Fondren Library Mary Brower and Keith Chapman mdumont@rice.edu, kochpman@rice.edu
Global and Digital Strategy Meredith Bonner mallison@rice.edu
Graduate Student Association Dhiraj Jain dmj7@rice.edu
Graduates & Postdocs Elizabeth Tippee elizabeth.tippee@rice.edu
Housing and Dining Diana DeSantiago desantiago@rice.edu
Humanities - -
Information Technology Liz Brigman and Nicole James liz@rice.edu, nicole.james@rice.edu
Investments Darren Britt dbritt@rice.edu
Kinder Institute Sam Hebert sh157@rice.edu
Moody Center Joel Thompson jpt4@rice.edu
Music Jennifer Overton overton@rice.edu
Natural Sciences Rachel Miller rmiller@rice.edu
President Ryan Kirksey rkirksey@rice.edu
Provost Brad Blunt bblunt@rice.edu
Public Affairs Kim Lawrence klawrence@rice.edu
Research William Turner william.turner@rice.edu
Retirees Dennis Huston and Doug Miller jdhuston@rice.edu
Social Sciences Amy Krodel amy.krodel@rice.edu
Student Association Solomon Ni solomonni@rice.edu